The Flag of the United States

By | Jun 14, 2015

It was on June 14, 1777 that The Continental Congress passed The Flag Resolution. It reads; “Resolved, That the flag of the United States be made of thirteen stripes, alternate red and white; that the union be thirteen stars, white in a blue field, representing a new Constellation.”

In 1916, President Woodrow Wilson issued a proclamation that officially established June 14 as Flag Day but it wasn’t until August 1949, that the National Flag Day was established by an Act of Congress.

Even though others had had Flag Day observances today’s tradition of Flag Day is credited with teacher Bernard J. Cigrand who on June 14, 1885 assigned his students to write essays about the flag. From there he began an effort to bring a day of recognition to the flag become a national event.

I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands, one Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.

The United States flag consists of 13 horizontal stripes, seven red alternating with six white. These stripes represent the original 13 colonies and the stars represent the 50 states of the Union.

2014 FlagDay-0688


Thank You for Reading

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



WordPress Themes by DBT - Copyright © 2007-2017 6 Things To Consider. All Rights Reserved.