No Greats in Basball Hall of Fame This Year

By | Jan 11, 2013

For the first time since 1996 the Baseball Writers Association of America voted no one into the Baseball Hall of Fame, even though some of the best players of the 1990’s (Bobby Bonds, Roger Clements, Rafael Palmeiro, Sammy Sosa, Mark McGuire, and Mike Piazza) were on the ballot.

Were the writers right and with the decision that with the 1990s being classified as the “Steroid Era”, with some of those greats either being directly or indirectly associated with its use not be voted in? Possibly, but one could just consider it a way of cheating and cheaters in baseball have been voted in.

Gaylord Perry, Hall of Fame Pitcher, was accused and even caught doctoring the baseball. During the 60s and 70s players such as Hank Aaron, Mike Schmidt and Willie Stargell most likely used have used amphetamines to help them.

Since the game began players have done whatever they could to be better than the other players. The Baltimore Chop was created as an easy way to get on base. Players have run out of the baselines to prevent double plays. All forms of cheating.

So all of the names I mentioned above as well as Craig Biggio and Jeff Bagwell, two of the five players who received over 50% of the votes, should be in the Baseball Hall of Fame. The other three were Jack Morris, Mike Piazza and Tim Raines. Morris and Raines, in my opinion, do not belong.

It’s not as if no one is going into the Hall of Fame this year. The Baseball Veterans Committee voted in three people. Those are umpire Hank O’Day, Baseball executive Jacob Rupper and player Deacon White. White was a barehanded catcher during the 1870’s and 80’s. He


Thank You for Reading

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



WordPress Themes by DBT - Copyright © 2007-2017 6 Things To Consider. All Rights Reserved.