The Eleven States of the United States

By | Jul 26, 2012

It was on July 26, 1788 that New York became the eleventh state to ratify the Constitution of the United States. The Constitution’s Seventh Article stated that “The Ratification of the Conventions of nine States, shall be sufficient for the Establishment of this Constitution between the States so ratifying the Same.”

The ninth to ratify was New Hampshire, a little over a month earlier on June 21, 1788. Upon ratification Virginia, the the most populous state and New York, the wealthiest state still hadn’t. Although Virginia did become the tenth on June 25th. And New York as stated in the first paragraph.

The Congress of the Confederation chose March 4, 1789 as the day “for commencing proceedings under the Constitution.” When Congress convened and George Washington took the oath as President, there were only 11 states of the United States. North Carolina and Rhode Island still hadn’t ratified.

Both of these waited until the Bill of Rights were submitted before their ratification. North Carolina on November 21, 1789 and Rhode Island on May 29, 1790.

The first state to be admitted that was not part of the original thirteen colonies of the Articles of Confederation was Vermont on March 4, 1791. Although Vermont had been operating as an independent state since the time of the Revolution.

By the time the century had ended and the election of 1800, two more states joined the union. Kentucky on June 1, 1792 and Tennessee 4 years later on June 1, 1796.


Thank You for Reading

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



WordPress Themes by DBT - Copyright © 2007-2017 6 Things To Consider. All Rights Reserved.