The State of Maine

By | Mar 15, 2012

On March 15, 1820 the State of Maine was admitted to the union of the United States as its 23rd State.

The first European settlement in Maine was in 1604 by a French party that included Samuel de Champlain. The first English settlement in Maine was established by the Plymouth Company at Popham in 1607. This was the same year as the settlement at Jamestown, Virginia.

The Popham Colony was abandoned after only one year. This may have been mostly due to changes in the leadership ranks than lack of success. The loss of life of the colonists in 1607 and 1608 at Popham was fewer than that at Jamestown. Even with its failure the first ship built by the English in the New World was completed in Popham Colony and sailed the colonist back to England.

The City of Portland is Maine’s largest city and until 1832 it was the state’s capital. The capital was moved to Augusta which is more central within the state.

The town of York, located in South East Maine was chartered in 1641. This may be the oldest Chartered town in America.

US Route 1 ends at Fort Kent, Maine near the Canadian border. The route is the major north–south Highway serving the East Coast of the United States and runs south to Florida and the Florida Keys ending at Key West.


Thank You for Reading

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



WordPress Themes by DBT - Copyright © 2007-2017 6 Things To Consider. All Rights Reserved.