Presidential – Did You Know?

By | Feb 20, 2012

When James Monroe was confirmed as President by the Electoral College he received all of the Electoral votes except for one. A New Hampshire delegate would not give his vote to Monroe in honor of George Washington. Washington is the only President elected unanimously by the Electoral College.

Martin Van Buren was born on December 5, 1782 and is the first President who was born after July 4, 1776, the date of the Declaration of Independence. John Tyler born March 29, 1790 was the first born after the adoption of the Constitution.

When John F. Kennedy was elected President during the 1960 election he became the youngest elected President. He was not the youngest President. When William McKinley was assassinated in 1901, Theodore Roosevelt became the youngest President at the age of 42.

Ronald Reagan was the oldest man to hold the office of President. He was just a few weeks short of his 70th birthday when he took the oath of office in January 1980. He was just short of 78 when he left office 8 years later.

Benjamin Harrison was not only the first President to be a grandson of a president (William Henry Harrison), he was also the great-grandson to a signer of the Declaration of Independence (Benjamin Harrison).

Herbert Hoover, elected President in 1928, was the first President who was born west of the Mississippi River. He was born in West Branch, Iowa on August 10, 1874.


Thank You for Reading

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



WordPress Themes by DBT - Copyright © 2007-2017 6 Things To Consider. All Rights Reserved.