About the Los Angeles Dodgers

By | Apr 17, 2010

During the early days of baseball the New York district of Brooklyn was home to many ball clubs. Even though Brooklyn had fielded strong teams prior to 1869 the team they fielded in the National Association of Professional Baseball that formed in 1871 were weak.

When the National League granted their eight territories to eight teams they granted membership to the New York Mutuals. The Mutuals were expelled from the league in 1877 and the Hartford Dark Blues moved to Brooklyn under the name the Brooklyn Hartfords. This team too was shortly disbanded.

The team that eventually became the Brooklyn Dodgers began in 1884 in the American Association. They were known then as the Trolley Dodgers. When a bunch of the players were married in 1888, some in the press termed them the Bridegrooms.

After winning the American Association pennant in 1889 they moved in 1890 to join the national league, winning the pennant their in their first year, 1890. In the 1990’s the Dodgers were involved in a number of mergers including the Players League Brooklyn Wonders in 1891, The New York Metropolitans in 1895 and the National League Baltimore Orioles in 1900, when the league consolidated clubs. Between 1900 and 1932 the team went under the names Superbas (1899-1910 and 1913) Dodgers (1911-12) Robins (1914-31).

In 1957, partly due to not being able to find a suitable location to build a replacement ball park for their long time home of Ebbetts Field, the Dodgers moved to Los Angeles. They played their first game in Los Angeles against the Giants, who had moved to San Francisco at the same time, on April 18, 1958 winning 6-5.

In the 1880’s the National League banned the teams from using black ball players. The Brooklyn Dodgers under General Manager Branch Rickey played Negro-League star Jackie Robinson on April 15, 1947. This is regarded as a key moment in the equal-rights movement. Robinson won the Rookie of the Year.

Including their American Association pennant they have won 21 National League pennants, 3 1900 or before. They have won 6 World Series titles with all but one being in Los Angeles.

The Dodgers have retired the uniform numbers; 1-Pee Wee Reese, 2-Tommy Lasorda, 4-Duke Snider, 19-Jim Gilliam, 2B-3B, 20-Don Sutton, 24-Walter Alston, 32-Sandy Koufax, 39-Roy Campanella, 42-Jackie Robinson, 53-Don Drysdale. Jackie Robinson’s Number has been officially retired by Major League Baseball.


Thank You for Reading

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



WordPress Themes by DBT - Copyright © 2007-2017 6 Things To Consider. All Rights Reserved.