Confederate States of America

By | Feb 4, 2010

Beginning on February 4, 1861 delegates from South Carolina, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, Georgia, and Louisiana met in Montgomery, Alabama to create a form of government based on the United States and many of the same beliefs.

By February 8, 1861 they had developed a Provisional Constitution forming the Confederate States of America. Jefferson Davis was named President, to serve a six year, non re-electable term taking the oath of office on February 18, 1861. Alexander Stephens served in the post of Vice President. This Provisional Constitution left out some key points such as ratification process. The final Confederate States Constitution was adopted on March 11, 1861.

The capital of the Confederate States of America (CSA) only remained in Montgomery, Alabama, until May 29, 1861. After Virginia became part of the CSA, Richmond, Virginia was named the capital and the government moved there. In 1865 the Confederate government evacuated Richmond. Danville, Virginia, served as the last capital of the Confederate States of America, from April 3 to April 10, 1865.

The formation of the Confederate States of America started when South Carolina removed themselves from the United States of America on December 20, 1860. They were followed by Mississippi on January 9, 1861, Florida on January 10th, Alabama on the 11th, Georgia on January 19th, Louisiana on January 26th, Texas on February 1st, Virginia on April 17th, Arkansas on May 6th, North Carolina on May 20th and Tennessee on June 8th. In total 11 states would formally leave the union of the United States. The first seven of these states would leave before Abraham Lincoln was swore in as President with the remaining doing so afterward. Missouri and Kentucky both had a group that proclaimed secession, admitted in the the Confederate States, but remained part of the United States of America.

Winston County, Alabama refused to join the CSA and declared itself the Republic of Winston. They felt that if a state could secede from the union a county could secede from a state. Jones County, Mississippi, (The only county thought to have been named for John Paul Jones) is said to have declared its independence from both countries calling themselves the Free State of Jones. And the western part of Virginia became the State of West Virginia in 1863.

After the War was decided the states were readmitted to the United States. Tennessee on July 23, 1866, Arkansas on June 22, 1868, Florida on June 25, 1868, North Carolina on July 4, 1868, South Carolina and Louisiana on July 9, 1868, Alabama on July 13, 1868, Virginia on January 26, 1870, Mississippi on February 23, 1870, Texas on March 30, 1870 and Georgia on July 15, 1870.


Thank You for Reading

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



WordPress Themes by DBT - Copyright © 2007-2017 6 Things To Consider. All Rights Reserved.