The Oakland Raiders

By | Oct 8, 2009

On January 30, 1960 the Oakland Raiders were the 8th team given a franchise in the AFL, the new and competing league to the NFL. It was considered a big surprise since the area didn’t have a stadium for a team to play, San Francisco had the 49er’s across the bay and there wasn’t an ownership group. But one of the original 8, a team from Minneapolis had been offered a chance to join the NFL and the Chargers, then in Los Angeles moving to San Diego in 1961, wanted another West Coast City in the League.

After the 1981 season the team was moved from Oakland to Los Angeles. The move wasn’t done without obstacles. While Al Davis, President and majority owner, wanted to move the team, the league was not approved by the league. However, the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum, who would be the home of the Raiders after the move, filed an Anti-trust lawsuit against the NFL. The lawsuit was joined by Davis and the courts ruled in favor of the Coliseum and Davis allowing them to move. They returned to Oakland after the 1994 season.

The team won the AFL championship once and lost Super Bowl II to the Green Bay Packers. They’ve won the Super Bowl three times, XI, XV and XVIII. Their last appearance was in 2002 in which they lost when expected to win. Since that game the Raiders have been a team first on the decline and now on a slow recovery.

The Raiders have not retired any uniform numbers although the number 00 worn by Raider’s Jim Otto is not an authorized number in the NFL. Players enter the Hall of Fame as Raiders are: 32 Marcus Allen, HB (1982-1992) inducted 2003; 25 Fred Biletnikoff, WR (1965-1978) inducted 1988; George Blanda, QB,K (1967-1975) inducted 1981; 24 Willie Brown, CB (1967–1978) inducted 1984; 87 Dave Casper, TE (1974–1980, 1984) inducted 2002; Al Davis , Team, League administrator (1963–1965, 1966–present) in 1992; 22 Mike Haynes, CB (1983–1989) inducted 1997; 83 Ted Hendricks, LB (1975–1983) inducted 1990; 75 Howie Long, DE (1981–1993) inducted 2000; John Madden, Head coach (1969–1978) inducted 2006; 00 Jim Otto, C (1960–1974) inducted 1980; 78 Art Shell, OT (1968–1982) inducted 1989 and 63 Gene Upshaw, G (1967–1981) inducted 1987.

The Raiders played in the Super Bowl after the 2002 season. But that was the last year that the team had a winning record. The went 4-12 following their Super Bowl season and have lost at least 11 games in six straight seasons, the first team to even do it.

The team plays in the NFC West Division. They have fans throughout the United States. Those fans call themselves part of the Raider Nation.


Thank You for Reading

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



WordPress Themes by DBT - Copyright © 2007-2017 6 Things To Consider. All Rights Reserved.