St. Louis Rams

By | Aug 3, 2008

When the NFL franchise that now makes its home in St Louis began in Cleveland. In 1936 they were a charter member of the American Football League, the second league to hold this name. They became a member of the NFL in 1937 moved to Los Angeles in 1946 and then to St Louis prior to the 1995 season. They are currently members of the Western Division of the National Football Conference (NFC).

The Rams have won two NFL Championships, 1945 and 1951, and as the St. Louis Rams won Super Bowl XXXIV in 1999.

The team nickname, the Rams, come from the nickname of Fordham University.

The following people are Hall of Famers that have been inducted as Rams. George Allen, 2002, Coach 1966-1970; 76, Bob Brown, 2004, OT 1969-1970; 29, Eric Dickerson, 1999, RB 1983-1987; 55, Tom Fears, 1970, End 1948-1956; 40, Elroy “Crazy Legs” Hirsch, 1968, RB, WR 1949-1957; 75, Deacon Jones, 1980, DE 1961-1971; 65, Tom Mack, 1999, G 1966-1978; 74, Merlin Olsen, 1982, DT 1962-1976; Dan Reeves, 1967, Owner 1941-1971; 78, Jackie Slater, 2001, OT 1976-1995; 25, Norm Van Brocklin, 1971, QB, P 1949-1957; 7 Bob Waterfield, 1965, QB, DB, K, P 1945-1952; 85, Jack Youngblood, 2001, DE 1971-1984.

Numbers that have been retired by the Rams are: Retired numbers 7 Bob Waterfield; 28 Marshall Faulk; 29 Eric Dickerson;74 Merlin Olsen;78 Jackie Slater;85 Jack Youngblood.

In the 1960’s the Los Angeles Rams had one of the best, if not the best , defensive lines in NFL history. The line was called the Fearsome Foursome and were made up of Rosey Grier, Merlin Olsen, Deacon Jones, and Lamar Lundy. Another defensive great, Chicago Bear Linebacker Dick Butkus called them “the most dominant line in football history.”


Thank You for Reading

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



WordPress Themes by DBT - Copyright © 2007-2017 6 Things To Consider. All Rights Reserved.