Maryland’s Eastern Shore

By | Jun 18, 2008

A little more than a third of Maryland’s land area is located in the nine counties that makes up the Maryland portion of Delmarva. In the 2004 census the population of the area was nearly 491 thousand. This is only about 8% of Maryland total population.

Maryland was named in the honor of Henriette Maria, Queen Consort of Charles I. A charter for the “Maryland Colony” was granted to Cæcilius Calvert, 2nd Lord Baltimore, on June 20, 1632.

A year before in 1631 with permission from the Virginia Governor, William Claiborne established a trading post on a island located in the upper Chesapeake Bay. Claiborne named the island Kent Island after his home, Kent England.

The historic towns, meandering creeks and wonderful nature areas characterize the area. Each of the nine Maryland counties has their own special history. It’s a slower way of life surrounded by water. It is a place where people wave and say hello as they pass.

The area’s main economy involves vegetable and grain farming, seafood, and a large-scale chicken breeding operation on the lower shore. The Perdue Company began as a small egg farm in Salisbury. Tourism is another part of its economy with thousands of visitors coming to the area each week.

With the opening of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge, the area has changed, especially Queen Anne’s and Talbot counties. These counties have become home to many who work at businesses located west of the Chesapeake Bay. The area still maintains a unique rural quality. Many who cross the Chesapeake Bay Bridge feels an ease come over them as they reach the eastern shore. There is a true independence from a helter skelter way of life.


Thank You for Reading

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



WordPress Themes by DBT - Copyright © 2007-2017 6 Things To Consider. All Rights Reserved.