NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship

By | Apr 8, 2008

On April 8, 2008 at the St. Pete Times Forum in Tampa, Florida the Tennessee Lady Vols won their second consecutive NCAA Women’s Division I Championship defeating the Stanford Cardinals. Tennessee reached the finals with a last second shot against LSU while Stanford won easily against the favorite UConn team.

The first Women’s tournament was played in 1982. In that tournament Louisiana Tech was the winner over Cheyney State. The team from Tennessee lead by Pat Summitt lost to Louisiana Tech in the semi-final game. Pat Summitt coached her first game at Tennessee in 1974 and has led a Tennessee team into every tournament. The 2008 game was their 13 championship game.

In the 27 year history of the tournament the only teams to have won more than one championship are; Louisiana Tech, Southern Cal and Stanford each with 2, UConn with 5 and Tennessee with a total of 8.

Louisiana State University (LSU) has appeared in each of the last five final fours. During that time they have advanced to the final set of games under four different coaches. They also have been unable to reach the championship game in any of those years.

From 1982, the first year of the tournament, until 1985, 32 teams played for the championship. The field was expanded to 40 for the 1986-1988 tournaments. There were 48 teams in 1989-1993 expanding to its current 64 teams format in 1994.

Seven times a lower-seeded team has won the championship, including three straight times from 2004 through 2006.

Note:Revised on April 9, 2008 to reflect the outcome of the game.


Thank You for Reading

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



WordPress Themes by DBT - Copyright © 2007-2017 6 Things To Consider. All Rights Reserved.