2008 NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship

By | Apr 7, 2008

The NCAA crowned their Men’s Basketball Champion in the late hours of April 7, 2008. The Kansas Jayhawks (37-3) defeated the Memphis Tigers (38-2) in overtime by a score of 75-68 the NCAA will crown their men’s basketball champion.

The Kansas Jayhawks won their third NCAA championship, although they did win two, in 1922 and 1923 before the the first NCAA Basketball Tournament was first played in 1939. Their first championship was in 1958, a year after losing the championship game to North Carolina in triple overtime. Their second came in 1988.

James Naismith, the man credited with creating the game of basketball, was Kansas’ first basketball coach. Among his assistants was Forrest “Phog” Allen. Allen was one of the most successful coaches in basketball history and known as the “Father of Basketball coaching”. Among his students were Dean Smith and Adolph Rupp.

The Memphis Tigers have yet to win a national championship having lost their only other previous time in 1973 losing to a John Wooden led team from UCLA.

The Tiger’s have a long basketball history fielding their first team in 1920. With their 38 wins in the 2007-2008 season they became the first team to win 38 games in a season. Until the championship game their only lost was to Tennessee on February 23, 2008. The score was 66-62.

The 2008 Championship game was played at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas. CBS Television broadcasted the game Jim Nance and Billy Packer calling the action. With this game Packer called his 34th consecutive championship game.

*Note:This was revised on April 8th to reflect the game’s outcome.


Thank You for Reading

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



WordPress Themes by DBT - Copyright © 2007-2017 6 Things To Consider. All Rights Reserved.