About the Boston Red Sox

By | Oct 21, 2007

The Boston Red Sox began as one of the American League’s charter franchise in 1901. One of the leaders of the team was Cy Young, who would win 33 games that first season. They would win the first American League pennant as well as winning the first World Series against the National League in 1903. Even though they won the 1904 American League pennant, they were not able to defend it since the National League winner decided not to play. In all the team from Boston in the American league would win 3 of the first 4 American league pennants.

They were one of the finest clubs during the first 20 years of the American League winning all 5 of the World Series they played. However between their 1918 and 2004 championships they only appeared in 4 World Series, losing them all.

In 1986 the Red Sox looked as if they would win their first World Series since 1918. They were ahead in the series 3 games to 2 and had just taken a 5-3 lead in the top of the 10th inning of game six. But win 2 outs and 2 strikes on the batter, the New York Mets recorded three singles and a wild pitch to tie the game. Mookie Wilson hit a weak grounder to first baseman Bill Buckner. The rest as they say is history, the ball took a strange hop and rolled between Buckner’s legs, allowing Ray Knight to score the winning run from 2nd. The Mets then went to win game seven and the series.

The Red Sox have won 6 Divisional tiles and 5 Wild Card berths. They have won 12 American League titles and won 7 World Series with the last being in 2007 when they swept the series against the Colorado Rockies. (The information here is up-to-date as of November 1, 2007)

The Red Sox have retired the numbers; 1-Bobby Doerr, 4-Joe Cronin, 8-Carl Yastrzemski, 9-Ted Williams, 27-Carlton Fisk.

In 1912 in the Fenway section of Boston, the Red Sox moved into their new Ball Park. This is the oldest park in baseball and they still currently play their home games there.

The Red Sox are owned by John Henry and Tom Werner. At the beginning of the 2008 season their manager is Tony Francona. It was under Francona that the Red Sox’s in 2004 won their first World Series in 86 years and won again in 2007, the 2nd time in four years.


Thank You for Reading

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



WordPress Themes by DBT - Copyright © 2007-2017 6 Things To Consider. All Rights Reserved.