About the Texas Rangers

By | Apr 18, 2007

1) The expansion team Washington Senators, who replaced the original Washington Senators who moved to Minnesota in 1961 moved to Arlington, Texas a suburb of Dallas-Fort Worth Metropolitan Area. They took the nickname Rangers in honor of the Texas Rangers law enforcement agency. While in Washington the team only had 1 year in which they played better than .500.

2) In 1971 in what many feel could be one of the worst trades in history, the Washington Senators trade several up and coming players to the Detroit Tigers for former 30 game winner Denny McLain. McLain would see his career go down in ruins losing 22 games in his only season at Washington.

3) The franchise as both the Washington Senators or the Texas Rangers have not won an American League pennant. The Texas rangers have won 3 Divisional titles.

4) The Rangers have retired the uniform numbers; 26-Johnny Oates, 34-Nolan Ryan.

5) The Rangers play their home games at Rangers Ballpark in Arlington. The stadium opened in 1994. The capacity of the stadium is 19,115.

6) The Rangers are owned by Tom Hicks and at the beginning of the 2007 season they are managed by Ron Washington.


Thank You for Reading

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



WordPress Themes by DBT - Copyright © 2007-2017 6 Things To Consider. All Rights Reserved.