About the Detroit Tigers

By | Apr 13, 2007

1) Like many of the American League teams, the City of Detroit had fielded professional baseball teams prior to the league formation in 1901. In 1881 The National league had a team from Detroit nicknamed the Wolverines. But after the 1888 season that team was disbanded and Detroit was relegated to minor league status. Another team played in the Western League, the league that was the beginnings of the American league. They began in 1894 and on occasions were called the ‘Tigers’. It’s said that they received their nickname from their black & orange striped socks. They have played to a record of 8324-8106 or .507.

2) The 1984 Tigers had one of the best starts of a season by any ball club who has played professional baseball. At the end of 40 games they held a 35-5 record and cruise to a 104 victory season. They completed a sweep of the Championship Series against the Kansas City Royals and won the World Series against the San Diego Padres in 5 games.

3) The Tigers have won 3 divisional titles, all before the expansion to three divisions and 1 Wild Card berth. They have won 10 American league titles and 4 World Series championships.

4) The Tigers have retired the uniform numbers; 2-Charlie Gehringer, 5-Hank Greenberg, 6-Al Kaline, 16-Hal Newhouser, 23-Willie Horton. They have also honored the players Ty Cobb, Harry Hellman, Heinie Manush, Hughie Jennings, Sam Crawford, Mickey Cochrane, George Kell and broadcaster Ernie Harwell.

5) They play their home games at Comerica Park. The park opened in 2000 and the naming rights are with the bank, Comerica Bank. It has a capacity of 41,070.

6) They are owned by Mike Ilitch and at the beginning of the 2007 season are managed by Jim Leyland.


Thank You for Reading

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



WordPress Themes by DBT - Copyright © 2007-2017 6 Things To Consider. All Rights Reserved.